Source: from publisher for review

Divider

Disappointing Narrative Nonfiction: Summoned At Midnight

September 7, 2020 Uncategorized 0 ★★

Disappointing Narrative Nonfiction: Summoned At MidnightTitle: Summoned at Midnight: A Story of Race and the Last Military Executions at Fort Leavenworth
Author: Richard A. Serrano
Source: from publisher for review
Links: Bookshop (affiliate link) |Goodreads
Rating:two-stars

Summary: I enjoyed the detailed writing in this book, but the author included a lot of filler to pad this out into a book length story.

“Between 1955 and 1961, seventeen condemned soldiers–eight white, nine black–lived together on death row at Fort Leavenworth military prison. All eight of the white soldiers were eventually paroled and returned to their families… During the same six-year period, almost every black soldier was hung, lacking the benefits of political connections, expert lawyers, and public support of their white counterparts. By 1960, only the youngest black inmate, John Bennett remained on death row. His battle for clemency was fought over the backdrop of a strengthening civil rights movement, and between two vastly different presidential administrations.” (source) Read more »

Divider

New Release True Crime Review: Six Days in August

August 27, 2020 Uncategorized 8 ★★★★

New Release True Crime Review: Six Days in AugustTitle: Six Days in August: The Story of Stockholm Syndrome
Author: David King
Source: from publisher for review
Links: Bookshop (affiliate link) |Goodreads
Rating:four-stars

Summary: A fascinating story told well, but it felt fairly generic as far as narrative nonfiction goes.

Although you’ve probably heard the term Stockholm syndrome, you may not know the story of the bank robbery turned hostage situation that gave this idea its name. The crisis began when a man “walked into…Sveriges Kreditbank, … ripped out a submachine gun, fired it into the ceiling, and shouted, “The party starts!” (source). From that point forward, Swedish society and the press were captivated by the unfolding drama. Even the upcoming election for prime minister was almost forgotten, except as it depended on the outcome of the standoff. Read more »

Divider

Another Essay Collection Review: You Don’t Know Me

August 24, 2020 Uncategorized 4 ★★★★

Another Essay Collection Review: You Don’t Know MeTitle: You Don’t Know Me: The Incarcerated Women of York Prison Voice Their Truths
Author: Wally Lamb, The Women of York Prison
Source: from publisher for review
|Goodreads
Rating:four-stars

Summary: A tough, but well written and worthwhile read.

This is an essay collection by women imprisoned at the York Correctional Institute, all of whom took writing classes with previously published author Wally Lamb. They write about their experiences in prison and their formative life experiences. Few talk about their crimes in detail, but many talk about abuse they experienced as children, so this is a difficult read. I’m surprised to see the collection only has 29 reviews on goodreads, because it is well worth reading. As with (Don’t) Call Me Crazy, this essay collection presents an impressively varied set of perspectives on an experience most of us should probably learn more about. Read more »

Divider

Memoir Review: Wandering In Strange Lands

July 22, 2020 Uncategorized 6 ★★★★

Memoir Review: Wandering In Strange LandsTitle: Wandering in Strange Lands: A Daughter of the Great Migration Reclaims Her Roots
Author: Morgan Jerkins
Source: from publisher for review
Links: Bookshop (affiliate link) |Goodreads
Rating:four-stars

Summary: This was a nuanced, complex book that made me revise much of what I thought I knew about American history.

This book was enough of a genre mash-up that I hesitated to label it a memoir in my post title. Author Morgan Jerkins does include elements of memoir, reminiscing about learning her family history as a child and sharing her recent quest to trace her family history in more detail. Her journey takes her to many sites of significance both to her family history and to the history of Black Americans moving within the US. This portion of the book has elements of both travelogue and general history. She blends all of these elements with interviews with historians and expert locals to tell a nuanced story about her own history and the history of the US.

Read more »

Divider

Nonfiction Review: Ghost Road

July 16, 2020 Uncategorized 0 ★★★★

Nonfiction Review: Ghost RoadTitle: Ghost Road: Beyond the Driverless Car
Author: Anthony M. Townsend
Source: from publisher for review
|Goodreads
Rating:four-stars

Summary: A fascinating, balanced look at the possible futures of autonomous vehicles.

Although I thought Anthony Townsend’s first book, Smart Cities, relied a bit too heavily on anecdote, it presented enough interesting ideas that I was quite excited for his new book. The author is the founder of a ‘strategic foresight and urban planning studio’ and those specialties both show in the strengths of this book. He really narrows in on this one specific technology – autonomous vehicles (AVs). He is incredibly creative in the ways he imagines AVs might changes our lives. These changes will probably be largely in urban locations, especially at first, and the author paints a particularly vivid picture of the future of cities as AVs become more ubiquitous. I also appreciate his ability to recognize both the positive and negative changes AVs might make to our lives. Read more »

Divider

Contemporary Fiction Review: This Is How It Always Is

July 6, 2020 Uncategorized 4 ★★★★

Contemporary Fiction Review: This Is How It Always IsTitle: This Is How It Always Is
Author: Laurie Frankel
Source: from publisher for review
Links: Bookshop (affiliate link) |Goodreads
Rating:four-stars

Summary: I loved almost all of this book, but one section was iffy both in terms of representation and plot progression.

“This is how a family keeps a secret…and how that secret ends up keeping them. This is how a family lives happily ever after…until happily ever after becomes complicated. This is how children change…and then change the world. This is Claude. He’s five years old, the youngest of five brothers, and loves peanut butter sandwiches. He also loves wearing a dress, and dreams of being a princess. When he grows up, Claude says, he wants to be a girl. [Parents] Rosie and Penn want Claude to be whoever Claude wants to be. They’re just not sure they’re ready to share that with the world. Soon the entire family is keeping Claude’s secret. Until one day it explodes.” (source) Read more »

Divider

TBR Pile Reads in Mini-Reviews

June 17, 2020 Uncategorized 4 ★★★★

TBR Pile Reads in Mini-ReviewsTitle: Magpie Murders
Author: Anthony Horowitz
Source: from publisher for review
Links: Bookshop (affiliate link) |Goodreads
Rating:four-stars

This is the first book I picked up for the TBR Jar Read-a-thon and also the best. It’s a delightfully meta story in which the author of a murder mystery novel dies and his editor suspects that has actually been murdered. Two things really made this book work for me. First, the novel within a novel. After several chapters of the editor’s narration, we actually get to read the mystery novel she was editing when the author died. The entire thing! What a gutsy, original move to write a book that revolves around a mystery novel and than just write that whole book too. The novel within the novel was also just a delightful read, that at times perfectly captured the feel of an Agatha Christie novel. Second, the framing story was narrated by such a likable, relatable character. The editor’s love of reading and the way she stumbled into investigating the author’s death helped me enjoy her story just as much as the nested novel. Read more »

Divider

Narrative Nonfiction Review: Patriot Number One

June 8, 2020 Uncategorized 2 ★★★★

Narrative Nonfiction Review: Patriot Number OneTitle: Patriot Number One: American Dreams in Chinatown
Author: Lauren Hilgers
Source: from publisher for review
Links: Bookshop (affiliate link) |Goodreads
Rating:four-stars

Summary: An engaging, informative, personal story, enlivened by the author’s close involvement in the events she describes.

“Nearly three years ago, journalist Lauren Hilgers received an unexpected call. Hello, Lauren! a man shouted in halting Mandarin. We might be seeing you in New York again soon! The voice belonged to Zhuang Liehong, a Chinese man who had been arrested in his home country for leading a string of protests, and whom Hilgers had met the previous year while reporting a story. Despite zero contacts and a shaky grasp of English, Zhuang explained that he and his wife, Little Yan, had a plan to escape from their American tour group and move to Flushing, Queens, to escape persecution back home. A few weeks later, they arrived on Hilgers’s doorstep.”(source) Read more »

Divider

Gripping Literary Fiction in Review: I Am China

June 6, 2020 Uncategorized 5 ★★★★

Gripping Literary Fiction in Review: I Am ChinaTitle: I Am China
Author: Xiaolu Guo
Source: from publisher for review
Links: Bookshop (affiliate link) |Goodreads
Rating:four-stars

Summary: I really enjoyed the unique protagonist and multiple timelines in this gripping, well written story

Translator Iona lives a solitary, detached life and she likes it that way, but that changes when she begins translating letters and diaries written by a Chinese couple. Jian and Mu have had a challenging relationship, shaped by their differing opinions on art and activism, as well as by personal tragedies. Iona becomes absorbed in their lives. She desperately wants to know what happened to them and whether it will be possible to reunite them. This obsession draws her out into the world, but it’s not clear if this will lead to a happy ending. Read more »

Divider

Translated Fiction Review: Territory of Light

June 4, 2020 Uncategorized 4 ★★★

Translated Fiction Review: Territory of LightTitle: Territory of Light
Author: Yūko Tsushima, Geraldine Harcourt
Source: from publisher for review
Links: Bookshop (affiliate link) |Goodreads
Rating:three-stars

Summary: This book was written beautifully and could make for some great discussions, but it was too strange and surreal for me.

This is the “story of a young woman, living alone in Tokyo with her three-year-old daughter. Its twelve, stand-alone fragments follow the first year of her separation from her husband.” (source) It was originally published in monthly installments in a Japanese literary magazine. Read more »

Divider