Source: TLC Book Tours

Divider

TLC Book Tours: One Part Plant

March 8, 2017 Uncategorized 10

TLC Book Tours: One Part PlantTitle: One Part Plant: A Simple Guide to Eating Real, One Meal at a Time
Author: Jessica Murnane, Lena Dunham
Source: TLC Book Tours
|Goodreads
Rating: five-stars

Summary: Fantastic! Everything I made from this book was easy, delicious, and relatively healthy.

Author and podcaster Jessica Murnane advocates particular eating one plant-based meal a day and begins this cookbook with some suggestions for pantry staples to help you achieve that goal. She also recommends particular recipes as ‘gateway meals’ to bring reluctant family members on board with plant-based cooking. Personally, that’s not why I picked up her book. My husband and I already cook a lot of vegetarian meals and very rarely eat red meat, so I was primarily looking for more healthy, vegetarian meal ideas. It turns out, that’s a great reason to pick up this cookbook!  Read more »

Divider

TLC Book Tours: The Possesions

February 23, 2017 Uncategorized 8

TLC Book Tours: The PossesionsTitle: The Possessions
Author: Sara Flannery Murphy
Source: TLC Book Tours
|Goodreads
Rating: five-stars

“In an unnamed city, Eurydice works for the Elysian Society, a private service that allows grieving clients to reconnect with lost loved ones. She and her fellow workers, known as “bodies“, wear the discarded belongings of the dead and swallow pills called lotuses to summon their spirits—numbing their own minds and losing themselves in the process. But when Edie channels Sylvia, the dead wife of recent widower Patrick Braddock, she becomes obsessed with the glamorous couple. Despite the murky circumstances surrounding Sylvia’s drowning, Edie breaks her own rules and pursues Patrick, moving deeper into his life and summoning Sylvia outside the Elysian Society’s walls.” (Source) Read more »

Divider

TLC Review: The Fate of the Tearling

December 26, 2016 Uncategorized 4

TLC Review: The Fate of the TearlingTitle: The Fate of the Tearling (The Queen of the Tearling, #3)
Author: Erika Johansen
Source: TLC Book Tours
Links: Amazon|Indiebound |Goodreads
Rating: four-stars

Summary: As with the previous book, I enjoyed the character growth and world building, but I had mixed feelings about the ending.

“In less than a year, Kelsea Glynn has transformed from a gawky teenager into a powerful monarch. As she has come into her own as the Queen of the Tearling, the headstrong, visionary leader has also transformed her realm. In her quest to end corruption and restore justice, she has made many enemies—including the evil Red Queen, her fiercest rival, who has set her armies against the Tear. To protect her people from a devastating invasion, Kelsea did the unthinkable—she gave herself and her magical sapphires to her enemy—and named the Mace, the trusted head of her personal guards, Regent in her place. But the Mace will not rest until he and his men rescue their sovereign, imprisoned in Mortmesne. Now, as the suspenseful endgame begins, the fate of Queen Kelsea—and the Tearling itself—will finally be revealed.” (Source) Read more »

Divider

TLC Review: The Invasion of the Tearling

December 7, 2016 Uncategorized 6

TLC Review: The Invasion of the TearlingTitle: The Invasion of the Tearling (The Queen of the Tearling, #2)
Author: Erika Johansen
Source: TLC Book Tours
Links: Amazon|Indiebound |Goodreads
Rating: four-stars

Summary: Very much in the spirit of the first book. Similarly, it has unique, interesting but unfinished world building; well developed secondary characters; and difficult decisions for our protagonist.

“With each passing day, Kelsea Glynn is growing into her new responsibilities as Queen of the Tearling. By stopping the shipments of slaves to the neighboring kingdom of Mortmesne, she crossed the Red Queen, a brutal ruler whose power derives from dark magic, who is sending her fearsome army into the Tearling to take what is hers. And nothing can stop the invasion. But as the Mort army draws ever closer, Kelsea develops a mysterious connection to a time before the Crossing, and she finds herself relying on a strange and possibly dangerous ally: a woman named Lily, fighting for her life in a world where being female can feel like a crime. The fate of the Tearling —and that of Kelsea’s own soul—may rest with Lily and her story, but Kelsea may not have enough time to find out.” (Source) Read more »

Divider

TLC Review: The Queen of the Tearling

November 16, 2016 Fantasy, Fiction 14

TLC Review: The Queen of the TearlingTitle: The Queen of the Tearling (The Queen of the Tearling, #1)
Author: Erika Johansen
Source: TLC Book Tours
Links: Amazon|Indiebound |Goodreads
Rating: five-stars

Summary: This book was perfection, from the world building to the character development to the plot, pacing, and tone.

“Young Kelsea Raleigh was raised in hiding after the death of her mother, Queen Elyssa, far from the intrigues of the royal Keep and in the care of two devoted servants who pledged their lives to protect her. Growing up in a cottage deep in the woods, Kelsea knows little of her kingdom’s haunted past . . . or that its fate will soon rest in her hands.” (source) Lost heir, fate of the kingdom, etc… you get the idea. Personally, so many descriptions of fantasy novels sound the same to me, they’re not what draw me in. I knew enough to jump at this book because other bloggers had raved about and so now I’m here to do the same for you, because this is a book worth picking up! Read more »

Divider

TLC Review: Earning It

October 25, 2016 non-fiction 6

TLC Review: Earning ItTitle: Earning It
Author: Joann S. Lublin
Source: TLC Book Tours
Links: Amazon|Indiebound |Goodreads
Rating: three-stars

Summary: I enjoyed learning from the stories and fun facts in this book, but it was a bit too business focused for me.

“Among the first female reporters at The Wall Street Journal, Joann S. Lublin faced a number of uphill battles in her career. She became deputy bureau chief of the Journal’s important London bureau, its first run by women. Now, she and dozens of other women who successfully navigated the corporate battlefield share their valuable leadership lessons.” (source) Read more »

Divider

TLC Review: The Bitch is Back

October 12, 2016 Uncategorized 13

TLC Review: The Bitch is BackTitle: The Bitch Is Back: Older, Wiser, and (Getting) Happier
Author: Cathi Hanauer
Source: TLC Book Tours
Links: Amazon|Indiebound |Goodreads
Rating: four-stars

Summary: These well written life stories from women slightly to very ahead of me in life were endlessly fascinating

The Bitch is Back is a follow-up to an earlier essay collection entitled The Bitch in the House. Both collections feature essays primarily by women in their thirties. The essays focus on the decisions these women have made in regard to their significant others, their children, and their careers. Essays by women who wrote pieces for the earlier collections included brief introductions, such that I never felt lost because I hadn’t read The Bitch in the House first. Read more »

Divider

TLC Review: Hidden Figures

September 7, 2016 History, non-fiction 13

TLC Review: Hidden FiguresTitle: Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race
Author: Margot Lee Shetterly
Source: TLC Book Tours
Links: Amazon|Indiebound |Goodreads
Rating: five-stars

Summary: Wow, this was so good! Engaging, well written, clearly explained, inspiring.

I love discovering forgotten pieces of history and this is a great one, one that should be more well known. However, it will likely come as a surprise to most people to learn that the work of NACA (later NASA) during WWII and through the moon landing relied on the work of a large group of black, female mathematicians. These exceptional women made technical advances possible with their talent and drove social change with their optimism and determination. Focusing on four women who worked at NASA during this time period, Margot Lee Shetterly brings this story to life. Read more »

Divider

TLC Review: The View From the Cheap Seats

June 8, 2016 non-fiction 30

TLC Review: The View From the Cheap SeatsTitle: The View from the Cheap Seats: Selected Nonfiction
Author: Neil Gaiman
Source: TLC Book Tours
Links: Amazon|Indiebound |Goodreads
Rating: five-stars

Summary: Brilliant! I loved every piece in this collection.

I keep trying Neil Gaiman’s books in hopes of finding one that I can rave about as much as it seems like everyone else is and this book was it! This probably shouldn’t surprise me though, because the second reason I keep trying Neil Gaiman’s books is because when I got the chance to hear him give a talk, he was fantastic. As the description says, this book covers topics that include: “authors past and present; music; storytelling; comics; bookshops; travel; fairy tales; America; inspiration; libraries; ghosts; and the title piece, at turns touching and self-deprecating, which recounts the author’s experiences at the 2010 Academy Awards in Hollywood” (source). I’m happy to say I had fun reading about every one of these topics and all but two of the dozens of essays were easily enjoyed, whether or not I was familiar with the author, movie, book, comic, musician, etc that the essay was about. Read more »

Divider

TLC Review: The Secrets of Flight

May 6, 2016 Fiction, Historical Fiction 9

TLC Review: The Secrets of FlightTitle: The Secrets of Flight
Author: Maggie Leffler
Source: TLC Book Tours
Links: Amazon|Indiebound |Goodreads
Rating: three-stars

Summary: Enjoyable and heartwarming with great characters, but it also felt fairly average and obvious.

Mary Browning has led a full and exciting life, but as she has gotten older and suffered several losses, she’s become lonely and withdrawn. She has also avoided sharing her life story with anyone, despite a desire to write her memoirs, until a young woman named Elyse joins her writing group. Elyse’s resemblance to Mary’s younger sister prompts her to open up and begins a relationship that will help both of them find the emotional support they’re missing in their lives. Read more »

Divider