#ReadThemAllThon Review: Vicious

August 28, 2016 Fiction 1

#ReadThemAllThon Review: ViciousTitle: Vicious (Vicious, #1)
Author: V.E. Schwab, Victoria Schwab
Source: Gift
Links: Amazon|Indiebound |Goodreads
Rating: five-stars

Summary: This book completely lived up to the hype, with fantastic world-building and an enjoyably complex antihero.

“Victor and Eli started out as college roommates—brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same sharpness and ambition in each other. In their senior year, a shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities. But when their thesis moves from the academic to the experimental, things go horribly wrong. Ten years later, Victor breaks out of prison, determined to catch up to his old friend (now foe), aided by a young girl whose reserved nature obscures a stunning ability. Meanwhile, Eli is on a mission to eradicate every other super-powered person that he can find—aside from his sidekick, an enigmatic woman with an unbreakable will. Armed with terrible power on both sides, driven by the memory of betrayal and loss, the archnemeses have set a course for revenge—but who will be left alive at the end?” (Source) Read more »

Divider

#ReadThemAllThon Review: Eligible

August 27, 2016 Uncategorized 3

#ReadThemAllThon Review: EligibleTitle: Eligible (The Austen Project #4)
Author: Curtis Sittenfeld
Source: from publisher for review
Links: Amazon|Indiebound |Goodreads
Rating: four-stars

Summary: This retelling was modernized well and written in a style that made me feel I was getting to read the original for the first time.

This modern-day retelling of Pride and Prejudice finds the Bennet family living in a decrepit but beautiful mansion in Cincinnati, largely getting by on inherited money. As you might imagine, only Liz and Jane are pursuing careers, but the do so passionately. Mrs. Bennet desperately wants to marry one of her daughters off to Chip Bingley, ex-reality TV star, but his friend Darcy’s prejudice against what he sees as the cultural backwater of Cincinnati threatens to ruin the match. Read more »

Divider

Doing Discussions: Do You Mind Unlikeable Characters?

August 25, 2016 Uncategorized 7

DoingDiscussionsTopic

I feel a little bit behind the times with this discussion of unlikable characters, but it’s a post I’ve been wanting to do since before I got too busy with grad school to write discussion posts, so here goes… When I was thinking about this post I read an article pointing out that you’re not actually going to be friends with the characters in a book either way. I can’t find the exact article again but Roxanne Gay eloquently makes the same point here.  That was a point that stuck with me and made me wonder why people might mind reading about unlikable characters at all. Read more »

Divider

#BoutOfBooks Progress Report

August 23, 2016 Uncategorized 3

YKdCOt4Yesterday was officially the start of Bout of Books and I’ve been having a great time already! I hope you all have too 🙂 This is where I’ll be updating my progress throughout, so let’s get started with Day 1!

Monday
Pages Read: 300
Books Read: Eligible
Books Finished:
Bonus: Read more »

Divider

#ReadThemAllThon Review: The Sunlight Pilgrims

August 23, 2016 Uncategorized 5

#ReadThemAllThon Review: The Sunlight PilgrimsTitle: The Sunlight Pilgrims
Author: Jenni Fagan
Source: from publisher for review
Links: Amazon|Indiebound |Goodreads
Rating: four-stars

Summary: A book to pick up more for beautiful, poetic writing and character study than for the action. Very surreal.

“Set in a Scottish caravan park during a freak winter – it is snowing in Jerusalem, the Thames is overflowing, and an iceberg separated from the Fjords in Norway is expected to arrive off the coast of Scotland – THE SUNLIGHT PILGRIMS tells the story of a small Scottish community living through what people have begun to think is the end of times. Bodies are found frozen in the street with their eyes open, euthanasia has become an acceptable response to economic collapse, schooling and health care are run primarily on a voluntary basis. But daily life carries on: Dylan, a refugee from panic-stricken London who is grieving for his mother and his grandmother, arrives in the caravan park in the middle of the night – to begin his life anew.” (Source) Read more »

Divider

#FuturisticFriday Review: Seven Skeletons

August 21, 2016 Uncategorized 2

#FuturisticFriday Review: Seven SkeletonsTitle: Seven Skeletons: The Evolution of the World's Most Famous Human Fossils
Author: Lydia Pyne
Source: from publisher for review
Links: Amazon|Indiebound |Goodreads
Rating: three-stars

Summary: This was a fascinating read, but far too light. There was little science in this science history!

“Over the last century, the search for human ancestors has spanned four continents and resulted in the discovery of hundreds of fossils. While most of these discoveries live quietly in museum collections, there are a few that have become world-renowned celebrity personas—ambassadors of science that speak to public audiences. In Seven Skeletons, historian of science Lydia Pyne explores how seven such famous fossils of our ancestors have the social cachet they enjoy today.” (Source) Read more »

Divider

#FuturisticFriday Review and Giveaway: Playing Dead

August 12, 2016 non-fiction 6

#FuturisticFriday Review and Giveaway: Playing DeadTitle: Playing Dead: A Journey Through the World of Death Fraud
Author: Elizabeth Greenwood
Source: from publisher for review
Links: Amazon|Indiebound |Goodreads
Rating: four-stars

Summary: This was a fascinating story written in a very accessible way, perfect for fans of Mary Roach or Caitlin Doughty.

Inspired by a joking comment about faking her own death to avoid student loan debt, Elizabeth Greenwood stumbled into the world of death fraud. She meets people who find people; people who help others disappear; people who believe some famous dead people are just faking it; and people who have been caught after faking their own death. She also experiments with some of the steps necessary to fake her own death and considers what might inspire someone to take such a drastic step. Read more »

Divider

Doing Discussions: How Do You Use Your To-Read Pile?

August 11, 2016 Uncategorized 35

DoingDiscussionsTopic

Lately I’ve been considering how people use their to-read piles and what we even mean when we talk about our to-read piles. Personally, I use the term to-read pile for my online list of books I want to read and to describe the physical pile of books I own but haven’t read. Today, I’m specifically talking about how we use our online lists of books we’d like to read. Read more »

Divider

August Book Blogging Events

August 8, 2016 Uncategorized 6

readthemallthon

#ReadThemAllThon – August 14th to September 4th

The first event I’m looking forward to during the rest of August is a new read-a-thon, inspired by the current Pokemon Go craze. I’ve been enjoying the game and have a lot of fond memories of playing the original games, so I’m excited to jump in on this fun approach to tackling my TBR pile. Thank to our host, Aentee at Read At Midnight, for putting this together! I’m going to second Aentee’s love of Vulpix and choose Vu;pix as my pokemon, even if the fact that Vulpix only evolves once makes it a bit harder to earn points in the challenge. It also allowed me to use Aentee’s awesome trainer card template with minimal modifications. Sign-ups are here. Check it out! Read more »

Divider

#NFBookClub September Read-Along Announcement

August 8, 2016 Uncategorized 13

BookClubLogoSpecificBookAnnouncement

Woo! I’m so excited to have time to start getting back into blogging events in the coming months, starting with an announcement for the September Nonfiction Book Club read.  I hope you’re all still interesting in picking up the book that received the most votes back in May, because that’s how I picked this read.  Based on a recommendation from Lory at The Emerald City Book Review, I know I can’t wait to read The Age of Wonder! We’ll be starting reading on September 1st, so feel free to grab a copy and join in.

Divider